2018 GOLD QUILL AWARD WINNERS have been announced!

IABC is thrilled to announce the 2018 Gold Quill Award winners! Notification emails have been sent – please check your email (and your spam folder) for your official notification!

In total, 258 entries earned awards: 94 Excellence Awards and 164 Merit Awards. The Gold Quill Awards program recognizes business communication excellence globally, and is acknowledged as one of the most prestigious awards programs in the industry. Entries are evaluated against IABC’s standard of excellence, and the feedback from this year’s evaluators indicated that the standard of work in this year’s awards was some of the best seen in recent years. Read more about the program in IABC’s press release about this year’s winners.

This year, awards were won by organizations from around the world, with 13 countries represented in the winners list. The awards will be presented at the Excellence Gala, held on Tuesday, 5 June, as part of the IABC World Conference in Montréal.

The winners of the program’s special awards  for communication research, critical business issue and best student entry along with the Best of the Best are listed below.  The winners of the agency/communication department of the year awards will be announced during the Excellence Gala at the World Conference.

2018 Special Award winners

Jake Wittmer Award
90 Day Planning – Sentiment & Metrics
Desiree Elsharif
USA – Silicon Valley

Business Issue Award
Equipping an Organization for Successful Large-Scale Transformation
Jennifer Hahn

Sharon Berzok Student Award
PR teater
Kristina Zidar

2018 “Best of the Best” award winners!

Best of the Best – Category 1: Internal Communication
Terri Naude
South Africa

Best of the Best – Category 2: Employee Engagement
Tax Canada Bot-a-thon
Maliha Aqeel
Canada – Toronto

Best of the Best – Category 3: Human Resources and Benefits Communication
Coca-Cola Refreshments Canada Retirement Readiness Program
Jeff Pekar
Canada – Toronto

Best of the Best – Category 4: Change Communication
League of Champions
James McKenzie
South Africa

Best of the Best – Category 5: Safety Communication
Stop and Think Before You Act
Elsabe Coetzee
South Africa

Best of the Best – Category 10: Community Relations
Rebuilding Trust: Crowchild Trail Study
Peggy Chan
Canada – Calgary

Best of the Best – Category 24: Digital Communication
Day at a Modern Mine
Carla Pattison
South Africa

Best of the Best – Category 26: Publications
Charlotte Russe Benefit Magazine
Elizabeth Williams
USA – Los Angeles


2018 “Agency/Team of the Year” Awards:

We are pleased to announce this year’s nominees! The winners will be announced at the 2018 World Conference!

2018 “Agency/Team of the Year” Award Nominees

Boutique Agency of the Year (five or fewer employees)
Cropley Communications
The PR Department Inc.
Leading Communicators Inc.

Small Agency of the Year (six to 20 employees)
SimplyConnect Consulting, LLC

Mid-Size Agency of the Year (21–50 employees)
Argyle Public Relationships
Gagen MacDonald

Large Agency of the Year (51 or more employees)
PartnerComm, Inc.
Willis Towers Watson

Corporate Communication Department of the Year
Anglo American South Africa

Not-for-Profit Communication Department of the Year
Financial Services Commission of Ontario
The Regional Municipality of York

Congratulations to the 2018 Gold Quill Awards winners!

If you you are a Gold Quill Award winner, don’t forget to visit our Winners’ Resources page, with materials to help in promoting your win.



Year 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017
Location of Gala San Diego, USA Chicago, USA New York, USA Toronto, Canada San Francisco, USA New Orleans, USA Washington, D.C., USA
Gold Quill Chair Melissa Dark, ABC Dave Meyer Timothy R Buckley Amanda Hamilton-Atwell, ABC Priya Bates, ABC, MC Monika Lancucki, ABC Lynn Barter, ABC, MC
Total number of winners 100 78 288 281 313 223 231
Awards Excellence: 34
Merit: 65
Student: 1
Excellence: 24
Merit: 53
Student: 1
Excellence: 105
Merit: 182
Student: 1
Excellence: 108
Merit: 171
Student: 2
Excellence: 124
Merit: 186
Student: 3
Excellence: 85
Merit: 135
Student: 3
Excellence: 77
Merit: 153
Student: 1
Number of winning countries 14 8 17 13 15 12 16
Number of winners from each country Australia: 8
Canada: 43
Hong Kong: 1
Ireland: 1
Italy: 1
Mexico: 3
New Zealand: 1
Philippines: 2
Russia: 1
Singapore: 1
Slovenia: 1
UAE: 1
UK: 1
USA: 34
Australia: 3
Canada: 38
India: 1
Russia: 2
Slovenia: 5
South Africa: 3
UK: 2
USA: 24
Argentina: 1
Australia: 10
Brazil: 2
Canada: 125
China: 1
Germany: 1
India: 2
Mexico: 1
New Zealand: 3
Philippines: 7
Russia: 1
Slovenia: 5
South Africa: 8
Switzerland: 2
UK: 14
USA: 103
Venezuela: 1
Australia: 12
Botswana: 1
Canada: 79
Italy: 2
New Zealand: 6
Philippines: 11
Russia: 6
Singapore: 1
Slovenia: 7
South Africa: 11
Switzerland: 2
UK: 8
USA: 108
Australia: 18
Canada: 106
Croatia: 1
Hong Kong: 1
India: 1
Italy: 2
Mexico: 1
New Zealand: 9
Philippines: 9
Russia: 14
Singapore: 4
Slovenia: 8
South Africa: 6
UK: 4
USA: 128
Australia 17
Canada: 83
Denmark: 1
Hong Kong: 1
India: 2
Israel: 1
New Zealand: 8
Philippines: 3
Russia: 10
South Africa: 3
U.K. 4
USA: 95
Argentina: 1
Australia: 26
Brazil: 3
Canada: 86
Denmark: 2
India: 4
Italy: 2
Lithuania: 2
New Zealand: 3
Philippines: 5
Russia: 7
Slovenia: 3
South Africa: 13
Switzerland: 1
U.K.: 1
USA: 71